DeHart Technical School Logo
Your New Career Starts Here

Serving Central California
and the Bay Area

(209) 497-6105

DeHart Technical School Logo
  • refrigerant pressure testing
  • learning plumbing connections

Section 608 EPA Certification Programs

Includes Type I, Type II, Type III and Universal Certification

Section 608 of the Federal Clean Air Act requires that technicians who maintain, service, repair, or dispose of equipment that could release ozone depleting refrigerants into the atmosphere must be certified. Starting on January 1, 2018, this requirement will also apply to appliances containing most substitute refrigerants, including HFCs.

Technicians are required to pass an EPA-approved test to earn Section 608 Technician Certification. The tests are specific to the type of equipment the technician seeks to work on. Tests must be administered by an EPA-approved certifying organization. Section 608 Technician Certification credentials do not expire. Core tests taken as an open book exam cannot be used to get your Universal Certification. The core test must be taken as a proctored exam in order to attain Universal Certification.

The EPA has approved nearly 100 certification programs and provided them all with an identical bank of test questions. DeHart Technical School is proud to announce that it was chosen to be an approved U.S. EPA technician certification provider effective March 14, 2019.

Environmental Protection Agency logo
school supplies

Education & Testing

DeHart Technical School offers options on how to prepare for the closed-book certification exam. Please call our office for pricing and scheduling information.

  1. Full Preparatory Course:
    1. These courses are offered in April & Late September/October every year
    2. Course is one month in length and is offered 7:30-11:30 AM, 12:30-4:30 PM & 5-9 PM
    3. Course includes study materials, physical skill training and practice.
  2. Sign up to sit for a closed book paper test. Designed for someone who does not need study materials or training and is prepared to take the exam. Payment is due on the date of the exam, prior to taking the exam.

Certification “Type”

The EPA has developed four types of certification:

  1. Type I: For servicing small appliances.
  2. Type II: For servicing or disposing of high- or very high-pressure appliances, except small appliances and MVACs.
  3. Type III: For servicing or disposing of low-pressure appliances.
  4. Universal: a technician who has passed Type I, Type II & Type III exams and is certified to service all types of equipment.
in the lab training
in the lab training
HVAC training in the lab

DeHart Technical School

Enrolling students from the following California cities, and others, in the Central Valley:
Modesto, Turlock, Tracy, Oakdale, Riverbank, Stockton, Patterson, Ripon, Lodi, Manteca and Merced.

DeHart Technical School Logo
Connect with us
Find Us On Facebook Share On Facebook Share On LinkedIn

Back to Top

DeHart Technical School
311 Bitritto Way, Suite C
Modesto, California 95356
Phone: (209) 497-6105